FMA IAG Young Floodplain Manager of the Year Award


Floodplain Management Australia’s Excellence Awards will publicly recognise the outstanding contribution of FMA organisations and individuals towards promoting wise land use planning, reducing flood impacts, managing flood incidents or restoring communities after a flood event.

At the 2024 National Conference at Brisbane, Floodplain Management Australia together with IAG, will announce the winner of the Young Floodplain Manager of the Year Award. The Award aims to recognise a Young Floodplain Manager who has made an outstanding contribution or achievement to the floodplain management industry, and who embodies the core values of the YFM network.

A Full Three Day Registration to the 2025 FMA Conference and Pre-Conference Workshops to be held at Melbourne, VIC, plus Crystal Trophy plus Luxury Hamper. The Prize is valued at up to $1250 (based on Full Member pricing).


This award is open to all disciplines and specialties within the floodplain management space, including but not limited to community leaders, business owners, environmental specialists, engineers, scientists, communications specialists, built environment practitioners and others. You must be a current Member of FMA (or an individual who is an employee or representative of an FMA Member) and a current Member of the Young Floodplain Managers network.


In addition:
• To be eligible for the award, the individual must be 35 years of age or younger at the time of submission.
• Nominees should be nominated by an employer, colleague or peer, but may also nominate themselves.
• The Award selection panel for the year may identify suitable nominees.
• Previous winners are ineligible to apply.
• Current YFM Committee members are not eligible to apply.
• Previous nominees are eligible to apply.

The Award will be judged by a panel of representatives from the YFM National Committee and FMA Executive Committee.

Evaluation will be based on demonstrated commitment to one or more of the following objectives of the YFM, including:
• The individual’s commitment to collaborate and share knowledge
• An activity or project that demonstrates technical excellence or innovation
• Cultivation of opportunities to connect YFMs from across the public and private sectors as well as other young professional groups
• The extent to which the individual serves as an advocate for gender equality and diversity in all YFM activities and the broader industry.


NOMINATIONS HAVE NOW CLOSED. Download the 2024 Excellence Awards Booklet to learn about our Finalists.

If you have any queries about the Excellence Awards, Contact Us.